Slashdown’s Weblog

May 12, 2009

Down by the Riverside – Hi-tech

Filed under: human condition,Opuses — slashdown @ 11:06 am
Tags: , ,

Gonna lay down my gray laptop
Down by the riverside
Down by the riverside
Down by the riverside
Gonna lay down my gray laptop
Down by the riverside
Ain’t gonna study code no more.

Refrain:
I ain’t gonna study code no more,
I ain’t gonna study code no more,
Study code no more.
I ain’t gonna study code no more,
I ain’t gonna study code no more,
Study code no more.

Gonna stick that RAM in the golden sand;
Down by the riverside
Down by the riverside
Down by the riverside
Gonna stick that RAM in the golden sand
Down by the riverside
Gonna study code no more.

refrain

Gonna smash that drive with the heavy rock
Down by the riverside
Down by the riverside
Down by the riverside
Gonna smash that drive with the heavy rock
Down by the riverside
Gonna study code no more.

refrain

Gonna use what’s left as a beer tray
Down by the riverside
Down by the riverside
Down by the riverside
Gonna use what’s left as a beer tray
Down by the riverside
Gonna study code no more.

refrain

Gonna strip from me that office garb
Down by the riverside
Down by the riverside
Down by the riverside
Gonna strip from me that office garb
Down by the riverside
Gonna study code no more.

refrain

Gonna put on me my tie-dyed things
Down by the riverside
Down by the riverside
Down by the riverside
Gonna put on me my tie-dyed things
Down by the riverside
Gonna study code no more.

©Kberd.

1 Comment »

  1. Ain’t no stamps nor mail boxes,
    No parchment, vellum, near those rocks,
    How you gonna send me your news an’ dreams,
    Sauntering and chatting to the breams?

    But once there was no http://www.this, no Internet,
    “Is there any mail, for me?” you said, I bet.
    “Who’s it from?” “Well, open it and see!”
    “It’s from Delia! Look, ten pages with her free
    Flowing upward hand – let me read in peace.
    I must savour everything, piece by piece.”

    Down by the Riverside, down by the Riverside
    Perched in my favourite seat of split oak,
    Down by the Riverside, down by the Riverside.
    Wind on my face, beer in my hand, a chipmunk awoke,
    Down by the Riverside, down by the Riverside.
    Delia’s letter made me laugh out loud – not a “lol”
    For what I’m doing, as my cares have flown, I loll
    In my own secret place, my own oasis, camel-less!
    I hear the songs of birds, and I think, “Oh, yes!”

    Down by the Riveride, down by the Riverside!
    No Twitters, no Facebooks,no codes, nor blogs,
    No worms, no “virtuals”, no barking dogs
    Of Ads.,no “flat medium” that led me into bogs.

    Down by the Riverside, down by the Riverside,
    Down by the Riverside, down by the Riverside!

    I’ve thrown the shackles off, am a slave no more,
    I have assumed other garments, those that I wore
    Before, and have gained, oh, how I have gained!

    Down by the Riverside, down by the Riverside,
    Down by the Riverside, down by the Riverside,

    We are free!

    Fleur-de-lys (Alison)copyright.

    Comment by alison — May 19, 2009 @ 9:18 pm | Reply


RSS feed for comments on this post. TrackBack URI

Leave a Reply

Create a free website or blog at WordPress.com.

